MY DAO

image

Chi Chi is a Chinese girl teaches me Yuanji and Tai Chi in Lokhandwala Park every morning. She believes in Tao (Dao) philosophy and Tai Chi is integral part of it while Yuanji is a mixture of martial art and dance. Chi Chi is in India for 3 years (according to her) and I know her since 2nd of March 2016. She and her friends/allies Melody, Hoi, two old ladies also come with her and practice with us.

Chi Chi and Melody invited me to her place. They told me to come for lunch but another lady there informed me that they may baptize me with Dao. It was good for me as I could make my mind before going there. Chi Chi said me to avoid Onion and Garlic for 3 days before coming her place. I expressed my inability because I couldn’t ask my sister in law to cook without using Onion and Garlic, also if I eat something outside which may contain Onion and Garlic, how could I know? And Chi Chi said ‘If you want, you will manage.’

This sentence of her hit my mind and echoed in my ears. That morning I came home from garden and asked my sister in law if she can cook without onion and garlic. And she said Yes. My elder brother asked me if I’m leaving onion forever, I replied ‘na, just stopping for few days’.

I can’t categorize myself into vegetarian, non-vegetarian, aggetarian etc. Rather, I eat everything which is edible, fresh, nutritious and tasty if possible. I have my own thoughts/views on what is edible and what is not. I didn’t eat meat when I was kid. Once in my friend’s relatives’ place I was served chicken. When they found me eating roti with seera, they guessed me vegetarian. They immediately cooked Ladies Fingers/ Okra for me and I could finish my dinner but that made me realized that I should be flexible with my habits. From then I started eating non-veg also, but I still prefer veg.

Chi Chi’s words too strong, can be taken as mantra. She said is neither new nor charismatic but hit my mind and made me avoiding onion and garlic from my food. What did she say? Just a simple sentence. Nothing else.

On third day of leaving onion & garlic, they called me to their home. Their priest Dian Chuan Shi baptized me with Dao on 13th of March, 2016. Two other Indian ladies there tried to make me feel comfortable as it was not changing religion. I said ok. I had no problem. I had already informed Chi Chi about my Atheists, my practicing of Four Noble Truths and Sartre’s Existentialism. I knew already about Tao, Laughing Buddha, Confucias, Tao Teh Ching, Lao Tzu, and their philosophies.

‘Baptize’ is not proper word for the ceremony Dian Chuan Shi did on me. It was not sort of ‘changing religion’, it was just sharing some symbolic ideas with me and their philosophy. And I bet, I may explain Dao better then them.

Here I say what I really want from them is, to learn Tai Chi, to know essence of energy, to understand relationship between energy-mind & body. I’m not so interested in Yuanji. I have already said her that I want to learn Tai Chi. It’s two weeks have been completed and I still can’t remember all steps of Tai Chi 24.

image

Leave a Reply

