The Little Prince 

I visited one of my writer friend’s room. He showed me some of his books he loved to read. He offered me to pick any of those books if I would like to read.
1 – I have Tao Te Ching to finish

2 – I’m lazy to read thick books like novels
I’m not to show off that – I Love Reading –

I remember, I could finish some novels or books without boredom were –

– The Greatest Salesman Of The World

– Mann Aur Uska Nigrah

– The Alchemist

– Two novels for kids
I picked ‘The Little Prince‘ from those books as I was not to leave this offer, because I believe, if one is asked to eat food or read books, he must accept the offer.
And I finished the book in three days to utilize time in this Diwali. Here are some quotes I wrote just to confirm myself that I successfully finished one more book in my life.
*
Prince – “I’m very fond of sunset. Come, let us go look at the sunset now.”

Man – “But we must wait.”

Prince – “Wait? For what?”

Man – “For the sunset. We must wait until it is time.”
*
Little Prince – 

“You know – one loves the sunset, when one is so sad.”
*
Little Prince –
“Matter of consequence? … You talk just like grownups… You mix everything up together. ..you confuse everything…”
“I know a planet where there is red-faced gentleman. He has never smelled a flower. He has never looked at star. Ha has never loved anyone. He has never done anything in his life but add up figures. And all day he says over and over, just like you – ‘I’m busy with matter of consequence!’ And that makes him swell up with pride. But he is not a man — he is a mushroom!”
*
Businessman – 

“Certainly. When you find a diamond that belongs to nobody, it is yours. When you discover an island that belongs to nobody, it is yours. When you get ab idea before anyone else, you take out a patent on it : it is yours. So with me : I own the stars, because nobody else before me ever thought of owning them.”
*
Little Prince –

“If I owned a silk scarf,” he said, “I could put it around my neck and take it away with me. If I owned a flower, I could pluck that flower and take it away with me. But you can not pluck the stars from the heaven..”
“I myself own a flower,” he continued his conversation with the businessman, “which I water everyday. I own three volcanoes, which I clean out every week  (for I also clean out the one that is extinct; one never knows). It is of some use to my volcanoes, and it is of some use to my flower, that I own them. But you are of no use to the stars…”
*
Fox –

“To me, you are still nothing more than a little boy who is just like a hundred thousand other little boys. And I have no need of you. And you, on your part, have no need of me. To you, I’m nothing more than a fox like a hundred thousand other foxes. But if you tame me, than we shall need each other. To me, you will be unique in all the world. To you, I shall be unique in all the world…”
“My life is very monotonous,” he said. “I hunt chickens, men hunt me. All the chickens are just alike, and all men are men are just alike. And, in consequence, I am a little bored….”
“One only understands the things that one tames,” said the fox. “Men have no more time to understand anything. They buy things all readymade at shops. But there is no shop anywhere where one can buy friendship, and so men have have no friends anymore. If you want a friend, tame me…”
Prince –

“What must I do, to tame you?”

Fox –

“You must be very patient. First you will sit down at a little distance from me – like that – in the grass. I shall look at you out of the corner of my eye, and you will say nothing. Words are the source of misunderstandings. But you will sit a little closer to me, everyday..”
*
Fox –

“And now here is s my secret, a very simple secret : It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye.”
*
Watchmen –

“No one is ever satisfied where he is.”
*
Little Prince –

“What makes the desert beautiful is that somewhere it hides a well.”
*
Little Prince –

“But the eyes are blind. One must look with the heart..”
*
20:50 Sunday, 30th October 2016

Leave a Reply

