Patriotic Nationalism For Citizen Of Earth Planet – 1

Ta – Is there any difference between Nationalism and Patriotism?
Wo – Yes. Both are different and against of each other.
Ta – I love my nation. I love my country. I love people, I love their language, culture. How is it against to each other?
Wo – Country, is a place where you live. That environment, locality, local people, their language and culture, all these make a country. It’s geographical and cultural concept for a place. Nation is a political term for people living inside political lines on map.
Ta – I love my country. I love my culture, my faith, my language.
Wo – Good.
Ta – I love my nation too.
Wo – It’s good you manage patriotism and nationalism on same time. It’s quite difficult for me and many people. I can’t be a patriotic and nationalist on same time.
Ta – Why?
Wo – To take care of people, place, culture, environment around you, is patriotism. To love your country is patriotism. To live and die for your country is patriotism. In a nation like India, we have so many countries, with different faiths, languages, culture, ..When I’m nationalist, I have to ignore my country. I have to sacrify my patriotic values for nationalism.
Ta – Do you mean, regionalism is patriotism?
Wo – Maybe similar but not same. Regionalism is emotionally attached with region, geographically. Patriotism is to love, respect and care for everything, belongs to your country.
Ta – Aren’t you a Nationalist then?
Wo – I can’t be a Nationalist and Patriot both on same time. Rather I would like to be Citizen Of Earth Planet.
*
11:29 a.m. Tuesday 23th May 2017

Leave a Reply

